SpoilerTV - TV Spoilers

2011 Portal Award Winners - Game of Thrones & Fringe Head the List

Fans are hoping "Game of Thrones" cleans up at this year's Emmy awards. But first, it had a very strong finish in voting for the 2011 Portal Awards.

The HBO fantasy series from author George R.R. Martin tied "Fringe" to take there awards at this year's fan-chosen awards, including Best Actor/Television, Best Episode/Television and Best Series/Television.

The winners, chosen by 30 days of voting earlier this summer from thousands of Airlock Alpha readers, were announced Thursday night on Alpha Waves Radio. That show can be heard Thursdays at 8 p.m. ET/PT on TrekRadio.net and the weekend after as a free download on iTunes.

Sean Bean, whose character of Eddard Stark ... well, we won't give it away. Let's just say Bean plays him. Well, anyway, he played him so well that fans voted him this year's Best Actor, beating a tough field that included Joshua Jackson from "Fringe," Matt Smith from "Doctor Who," Andrew Lincoln from "The Walking Dead" and Eddie McClintock from "Warehouse 13."

The show's pilot episode, "Winter is Coming," beat an equally tough field in that category. It was against "Apotheosis" from "Caprica," "The Doctor's Wife" from "Doctor Who," "Epilogue" from "Stargate: Universe" and "Lysergic Acid Diethylamide" from "Fringe."

In the Best Series category, "Game of Thrones" beat "Doctor Who," "Fringe," "Stargate: Universe" and "The Walking Dead."

But "Game of Thrones" was not the only show that shined. Fox's critical fave "Fringe" also took three awards. Anna Torv won Best Actress/Television. She beat Karen Gillan from "Doctor Who," Summer Glau from "The Cape," Lena Headey from "Game of Thrones" and Paula Malcomson from "Caprica."

John Noble, who many felt was robbed a nomination at this year's Emmys, was able to get redemption at the Portal Awards. The "Fringe" star beat competition -- including Emmy-nominated Peter Dinklage from "Game of Thrones" -- for Best Supporting Actor/Television. Noble also beat David Blue and Robert Carlyle from "Stargate: Universe," and Saul Rubinek from "Warehouse 13."

Leonard Nimoy, who says he is now retired from television and fandom, took the award for Best Special Guest/Television for his animated role in the "Fringe" episode "Lysergic Acid Diethylamide." He beat Michael Gambon and Alex Kingston from "Doctor Who," Christopher Lloyd from "Fringe" and Michael Rosenbaum from "Smallville."

For the full list of winners click on the source.

Get Email Alerts

About The SpoilerTV Daily Newsreel

Every day 100's of items are submitted to us and we don't always have the time to make separate posts for the news and/or there is so much that it would quickly push all other items off the homepage.

So a result we've come up with the idea of the Newsreel, which will feature smaller shows and news items as they happen.

There will be a new Newsreel each day, and as news is added we will update the post and and push it back to the top of the site so that you can see that new items have been added. A tweet of the item will also be sent to our @SpoilerTV account.

New Items will be listed at the top of the article.

This will allow us to provide more news on more shows in a much more timely fashion
About Movie News Roundup

Rather that creating lots of new posts as new info is released and fragmenting the commentary, we thought it would be a good idea for the upcoming major movies to create a single post for each major movies that will collate all the info as it's posted.

New items will be added to the top of the list as well as the post being re-posted back to the top of the homepage when a new item is added. We will additionally send out a fresh tweet alerting you of the new information.

This will allow you to bookmark this page so that you can return to it whenever you like. It will also help consolidate all the discussion on this movie in a central place and make it less likely that you'll miss some key information.